Extensions

So, my horrible paper that I have submitted to four journals finally got a revise and resubmit this time, hooray! The trouble is, it is a very big revision that they have requested. Fine, fine, I’ll do it, even though it is extremely painful.

The journal has given me two months to revise and resubmit, and I spent most of that first month traveling and attending or running conferences. Now I’ve got just under one month and I’m not confident in my ability to do all that work in that short period of time. I did get started on it a week ago but, well, it’s a lot of work.

So I’m considering asking for an extension for the first time in my life. Anybody have any experience doing that? Should I ask now? Or would it be better to wait until closer to the deadline? Will they give me an extension, or should I just work harder to try to make the deadline?

5 Comments on “Extensions”

  1. JaneB says:

    I would ask now – if they say ‘no’ then you still have the most time to do the work! (I’ve never had someone say no…)

  2. Mandy says:

    I don’t think it’s a problem to ask for an extension. They’ll probably say yes. Ask now, for peace of mind. I have asked for extensions on article revisions before and they were granted. Do it!

  3. ecogeofemme says:

    I just had to ask for TWO extensions on a R&R for a special issue, both due to my adviser who couldn’t get her part done in time. There were legit reasons for the second extension, but we were ~9 weeks late in the end. The handling editor really didn’t seem to care.

    Ecogeoman has asked for all sorts of extensions and pretty much always gets them.

  4. anon says:

    I have asked before, and got yes no worries.

  5. Thanks everyone! I sent a request for an extension over a week ago, and then sent it again a couple of days ago… no response. Argh!!


Leave a Reply

