Holy crap, I think it’s working

I have been making excellent progress on this paper I’m writing. Yesterday I decided I was done with the shitty first draft, and today I have moved on to writing the second draft. I am already up to 40% of my goal word count for the month. I’m actually very excited about this, and I am finding working on this paper and seeing the word count increase very addictive. My plan now is to have a complete draft ready for my co-authors by the end of the month.

The annoying thing is, I already know that it works when I make myself spend a minimum of 30 minutes a day on a project. I know this. I know it, and I forget it ALL THE TIME. I quit doing it for whatever reason, and then it is months and months before I make myself start trying the 30-minutes-a-day thing. I don’t know why I can’t ever remember how well it works. Sometimes it’s incredibly frustrating to be this dumb!

2 Comments on “Holy crap, I think it’s working”

  1. Belle says:

    What a great idea. I think I’m gonna try it! Go RC!

  2. Rebecca says:

    Listen, you can mark this down to misery loves company, which I’m not usually at all wild about, but I am happy to hear a younger highly educated person say they forget to implement effective methods. That means:

    1. It’s not just me, and
    2. It’s not because I’m old and stupid

    Nevertheless, I really hate when that happens. Glad you’ve got your mojo working again. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

