Online training – seriously?

My university is getting ready to go live on a new online financial and human resources system. They have set up a whole mess of training: online self-paced training, webinars, and face-to-face instruction. In theory, this is a very good idea, and should avoid disasters when the new system goes live.

In practice, however…

Based on my administrative roles, I am required to do some of this training myself – about 35 “courses.” I have already done several of the self-paced online sessions, which were painful (“The Main Menu tab takes you to the Main Menu”) but at least I could zoom through them quickly. Now I am starting to do some of the webinars (and fortunately, I can just watch previously recorded sessions). I thought that the webinars would be more advanced somehow… but it’s really just a person reading a powerpoint.

And the powerpoints themselves – ouch. Here is some actual text from one of them:

E‐doc is short for “electronic document.”

The e‐doc has fields you fill in, but on a computer, not with a pen or pencil. The computer checks what you enter against rules.

Surely my time would be better spent doing something else.

One Comment on “Online training – seriously?”

  1. Belle says:

    Sadly, this level of training is needed for too many. One of my dinosaurs has to be introduced to an on switch. For him, these sad examples are pushing his envelopes.


Leave a Reply

