Re: Fwd: Fwd: Re: Email

Lately, if someone were to ask me what my job is, I would answer “Writing emails.”

I write emails. Then I wait for people to answer them. Most people don’t, so I have to write another email to follow up on the first email. Sometimes I make phone calls about why my emails weren’t answered.

When I do get responses to my emails, half the time the responders don’t actually give me the information I requested but instead either 1) ask me a different question or 2) explain why they can’t/haven’t yet/don’t have time yet/don’t know/are not the right people to give me the requested information.

Then I respond to that email and the cycle starts again.

I am pretty sure this is not the most efficient way to get work done.

6 Comments on “Re: Fwd: Fwd: Re: Email”

  1. Dr. SuperBabe says:

    Welcome to my job description… I was quite content with saying “I write emails and follow up on things” until somebody said “wow, I didn’t know PhDs were required to be a secretary these days!”. Oh well, it’s still pretty awesome, though a part of me does miss the actual hands-on research… but just a part of me πŸ™‚

  2. Leslie M-B says:

    Yep–that pretty much describes my work at the teaching center. The nice thing about going back to teaching is that students tend not to use e-mail as much. It’s been nice to open my inbox and only see three or four new e-mails instead of 30 to 50.

  3. Rebecca says:

    In any case, happy to hear from you again, and really interested to see how it all plays out. Good luck!

  4. Belle says:

    Yikes. Be sure to protect that 25% and try even to expand it. Hire an assistant to chase emails.

    I’m soooo glad you’re back! We’ve missed you!

  5. So glad you are back!!!!!

  6. chall says:

    well, it’s organizing other’s work I’m sure?!

    Hope you find it good though! Glad to get an email with the link here πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

